Information about birth

Year of birth:
1892
Place of birth:
Rotherham, Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom

General information

Profession:
Labourer

Army information

Country:
England, United Kingdom
Force:
British Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Corporal
Service number:
241498
Units:
 —  York & Lancaster Regiment, 1/5th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
09/10/1917
Place of death:
Peter Pan, Passendale, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
25

Memorial

Tyne Cot Memorial
Panel: 125

Distinctions and medals 4

1914-15 Star
Medal
British War Medal
Medal
Mentioned in Despatches
Honourable mentioning — 07/11/1917
Victory Medal
Medal

Points of interest 2

#1 Place of birth
#2 ‘Place of death’

Additional information

Stanley Hale, a former labourer, was born in 1892 in Rotherham, Yorkshire, England. He was the son of John and Sarah Ann Hale. Stanley enlisted prior to November 10, 1915. He served as a corporal in the 1/5th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment, part of the 148th Brigade of the 49th (West Riding) Division.

On October 7, 1917, the 148th Brigade issued an order to attack two days later. They would take over the line running from a point northeast of Fleet Cottage to a point northwest of Berlin Wood. The 148th Brigade planned to attack two objectives, namely Red and Blue Line. Red Line, the first objective, ran through the Tynecotstraat to the left bank of the Ravebeek. The second objective, Blue Line, ran along the Bornstraat to the Ravebeek, passing Snipe Hall. The 1/5th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment and the 1/5th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry were ordered to attack on the left side of the 's Graventafelstraat. The latter would leapfrog over the 1/5th Bn. Yorks & Lancs after the first objective was reached. The 1/4th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment would attack on the right side. The 1/4th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry was placed in brigade reserve.

The Brigade moved to the front in the early morning of October 9, 1917, relieving the 1st New Zealand Brigade. Due to the adverse weather conditions, this move was delayed. The 1/5th Bn. Yorks & Lancs reached the jump-off line at 2:40 a.m. Two companies of the 1/5th Bn. K.O.Y.L.I. and one company of the 1/4th Bn. K.O.Y.L.I. failed to arrive before Zero Hour.

At 5:20 a.m. on the morning of October 9, 1917, the 148th Brigade attacked. The Ravebeek proved to be a bigger obstacle than initially expected. This normally gentle creek was between 30 and 50 metres across and at some points water came waist high. The water and swampy ground held up all battalions, causing some wheel into the direction of the 's Graventafelstraat. The 1/5th Bn. Yorks & Lancs were able to capture pillboxes near Fleet Cottage but came under machine gun fire of the from Wolf Copse on the left and Bellevue on the right, causing heavy casualties. At 6:00 a.m. the Red Line was captured. In absence of most of the 1/5th Bn. K.O.Y.L.I., the commanding officer of 1/5th Bn. Yorks & Lancs ordered his battalion to continue the attack. An attack on a line of pillboxes near Bellevue was launched but failed. The Brigade decided to consolidate their meagre gains along the slope of the ridge. At nightfall on October 9, another attempt was made to capture the pillboxes near Bellevue, but this attack failed as well. The line was held until they were relieved by the 2nd New Zealand Division in the night between October 10 and 11, 1917. The war diary of the 1/5th Battalion York & Lancaster Regiment notes 368 officers and men killed, wounded, or missing during the operations on October 9 and 10.

Stanley Hale, aged 25, was killed on October 9, 1917. Corporal Hale has no known grave and is remembered on panel 125 of the Tyne Cot Memorial. He was mentioned in the despatches of Field Marshal Sir Douglas Haig, dated November 7, 1917.

Sources 4

1/5 Battalion York and Lancaster Regiment (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2805/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
148 Infantry Brigade: Headquarters (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2804/1).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
Chris McCarthy, Passchendaele: The Day-By-Day Account (Londen: Arms & Armour, 2018), 122-123.
Sources used
Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917, MZ 05884 & MZ 05885.
Sources used

More information 3

Informations sur naissance

Année de naissance:
1892
Lieu de naissance:
Rotherham, Yorkshire, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni

Informations générales

Profession:
Ouvrier

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Force armée:
British Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Corporal
Numéro de service:
241498
Unités:
 —  York & Lancaster Regiment, 1/5th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
09/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
Peter Pan, Passendale, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
25

Mémorial

Tyne Cot Memorial
Panneau: 125

Distinctions et médailles 4

1914-15 Star
Médaille
British War Medal
Médaille
Mentioned in Despatches
Eervolle vermelding — 07/11/1917
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 2

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 "Lieu de décès"

Complément d'informations

Stanley Hale, ancien ouvrier, est né en 1892 à Rotherham, Yorkshire, Angleterre. Il était le fils de John et Sarah Ann Hale. Stanley s'est engagé avant le 10 novembre 1915. Il a servi comme caporal dans le 1/5e Bataillon du York & Lancaster Regiment, qui faisait partie de la 148e Brigade de la 49e Division (West Riding).

Le 7 octobre 1917, la 148e brigade donne l'ordre d'attaquer deux jours plus tard. Ils devaient prendre la ligne allant d'un point au nord-est de Fleet Cottage à un point au nord-ouest de Berlin Wood. La 148e brigade avait prévu d'attaquer deux cibles, la ligne rouge et la ligne bleue. La ligne rouge, le premier objectif, passait par la rue Tynecot jusqu'à la rive gauche du Ravebeek. Le deuxième objectif, la ligne bleue, suivait la Bornstraat jusqu'au Ravebeek, en passant par la salle des bécassines. Le 1/5e Bataillon du York & Lancaster Regiment et le 1/5e Bataillon du King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry reçoivent l'ordre d'attaquer la rive gauche de la rue Gravenafel. Ces derniers devaient attaquer le 1/5e Bn. Yorks & Lancs après que le premier objectif ait été atteint. Le 1/4e bataillon du York & Lancaster Regiment attaque sur la droite. Le 1/4e Bataillon du King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry est placé en réserve de brigade.

La brigade se déplace vers le front tôt dans la matinée du 9 octobre 1917, prenant la relève de la 1ère brigade néo-zélandaise. Ce mouvement a été retardé par les mauvaises conditions météorologiques. Le 1/5e Bn. Les Yorks & Lancs atteignent le barrage à 2 h 40. Deux compagnies du 1/5e Bn. K.O.Y.L.I. et une compagnie du 1/4e Bn. K.O.Y.L.I. n'est pas arrivé avant l'heure zéro.

À 5 h 20 du matin du 9 octobre 1917, la 148e brigade attaque. Le Ravebeek s'est avéré être un obstacle plus important que prévu initialement. Ce cours d'eau normalement doux avait un diamètre de 30 à 50 mètres et, à certains endroits, l'eau atteignait la hauteur de la taille. L'eau et le terrain marécageux ont retardé tous les bataillons, ce qui a conduit certains d'entre eux à faire demi-tour en direction de la Graventafelstraat. Le 1/5e Bn. Les Yorks et les Lancs ont pu capturer des casemates près de Fleet Cottage, mais ils ont subi des tirs de mitrailleuses depuis Wolf Copse sur la gauche et Bellevue sur la droite, causant de lourdes pertes. A 6 heures du matin, la Ligne Rouge a été capturée. En l'absence de la plupart des membres du 1/5e Bn. K.O.Y.L.I., le commandant du 1/5e Bn. Yorks & Lancs a ordonné à son bataillon de poursuivre l'attaque. Une attaque contre une rangée de casemates près de Bellevue est lancée mais échoue. La Brigade décide de consolider ses maigres victoires le long de la pente de la crête. Au crépuscule du 9 octobre, une autre tentative a été faite pour prendre les casemates de Bellevue, mais cette attaque a également échoué. La ligne resta entre leurs mains jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient relevés par la 2e division néo-zélandaise dans la nuit du 10 au 11 octobre 1917. Le journal de guerre du 1/5e Bataillon du York & Lancaster Regiment fait état de 368 officiers et hommes tués, blessés ou disparus au combat les 9 et 10 octobre.

Stanley Hale, âgé de 25 ans, a été tué le 9 octobre 1917. Le caporal Hale n'a pas de tombe connue et est commémoré sur le panneau 125 du Tyne Cot Memorial. Il est mentionné dans les dépêches du maréchal Sir Douglas Haig, datées du 7 novembre 1917.

Sources 4

1/5 Battalion York and Lancaster Regiment (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2805/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
148 Infantry Brigade: Headquarters (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2804/1).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
Chris McCarthy, Passchendaele: The Day-By-Day Account (Londen: Arms & Armour, 2018), 122-123.
Sources utilisées
Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917, MZ 05884 & MZ 05885.
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 3