Information about birth

Date of birth:
03/06/1898
Place of birth:
South Shields, Durham, England, United Kingdom

General information

Profession:
apprentice blacksmith

Army information

Country:
England, United Kingdom
Force:
British Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Private
Service number:
30248
Enlistment date:
25/01/1916
Enlistment place:
Northumberland, Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Units:
 —  Durham Light Infantry, 13th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
12/10/1917
Place of death:
Reutel, Beselare, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
19

Memorial

Tyne Cot Memorial
Panel: 128

Distinctions and medals 2

Points of interest 3

#1 Place of birth
#2 Enlistment place
#3 ‘Place of death’

My story

Charles Allen, a former blacksmith apprentice, was born on the 3rd of June 1898 in South Shields, Durham, England. He was the son of James and Elizabeth Hymers Lamb. On January 25th, 1916, the enlisted at Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland, England. He served as a private in the 13th Battalion Durham Light Infantry at Newcastle-upon-Tyne, lieing about his age. The 13th Battalion was part of 68th Brigade, of the 23rd Division.

On the 10th of October 1917 the 13th Battalion Durham Light Infantry relieved the front line troops at the Reutel Crossroads, facing the village of Beselare. The relief was complete on the morning of the 11th, establishing the headquarters at the Butte in Polygon Wood. During the 11th and the night of the 12th the enemy shelled the front and support lines, prompting the headquarters to move south to the edge of Polygon Wood. The Battalion was relieved on the night between the 12th and 13th of October 1917 and moved to Railway dugouts at Zillebeke.

Charles Allen, aged 19, was killed in acton on October 12th, 1917. Between the 11th and the 12th of October forty men were wounded and five men were killed. Private Charles Allen was one of the men killed that day. He has no known grave and is remembered on panel 126 of the Tyne Cot Memorial.

Files 1

Sources 3

13 Battalion Durham Light Infantry (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2182/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
War Office: Soldiers’ Documents, First World War (The National Archives, Kew (TNA) WO 363).
https://www.ancestry.com/
Sources used
Wilfrid Miles, The Durham Forces in the Field, 1914-18 (London, Cassell and Company, 1920), 195.
Sources used

More information 3

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
03/06/1898
Lieu de naissance:
Durham, South Shields, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni

Informations générales

Profession:
apprentis forgerons

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Force armée:
British Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Private
Numéro de service:
30248
Incorporation date:
25/01/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Northumberland, Newcastle upon Tyne, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Unités:
 —  Durham Light Infantry, 13th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
12/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
Reutel, Beselare, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
19

Mémorial

Tyne Cot Memorial
Panneau: 128

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 3

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Lieu d'enrôlement
#3 "Lieu de décès"

Complément d'informations

Charles Allen, ancien apprenti forgeron, est né le 3 juin 1898 à South Shields, Durham, Angleterre. Il était le fils de James et Elizabeth Hymers Lamb. Le 25 janvier 1916, il s'est engagé à Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland, Angleterre. Il a servi comme simple soldat dans le 13e Bataillon d'infanterie légère de Durham à Newcastle-upon-Tyne, en mentant sur son âge. Le 13e Bataillon faisait partie de la 68e Brigade, de la 23e Division.

Le 10 octobre 1917, le 13e Bataillon d'infanterie légère de Durham a relevé les troupes de première ligne au carrefour de Reutel, en face du village de Beselare. La relève fut achevée le matin du 11, établissant le quartier général à la Butte dans le bois du Polygone. Au cours de la journée du 11 et de la nuit du 12, l'ennemi a bombardé les lignes de front et de soutien, incitant le quartier général à se déplacer vers le sud, à la lisière du bois du Polygone. Le bataillon fut relevé dans la nuit du 12 au 13 octobre 1917 et déplacé vers des abris ferroviaires à Zillebeke.

Charles Allen, âgé de 19 ans, fut tué en action le 12 octobre 1917. Entre le 11 et le 12 octobre, quarante hommes furent blessés et cinq tués. Le soldat de deuxième classe Charles Allen était l'un des hommes tués ce jour-là. Il n'a pas de tombe connue et son souvenir figure sur le panneau 126 du Tyne Cot Memorial.

Fichiers 1

Sources 3

13 Battalion Durham Light Infantry (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2182/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
War Office: Soldiers’ Documents, First World War (The National Archives, Kew (TNA) WO 363).
https://www.ancestry.com/
Sources utilisées
Wilfrid Miles, The Durham Forces in the Field, 1914-18 (London, Cassell and Company, 1920), 195.
Sources utilisées