Pte
James Martin Clement Neagle

Information about birth

Year of birth:
1889
Place of birth:
Port Pirie, South Australia, Australia

General information

Profession:
Ironworker

Army information

Country:
Australia
Force:
Australian Imperial Force
Rank:
Private
Service number:
2233A
Enlistment date:
11/05/1916
Enlistment place:
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Units:
 —  Australian Infantry, 50th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
18/10/1917
Place of death:
Celtic Wood, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
28

Cemetery

Buttes New British Cemetery, Polygon Wood
Plot: XXVIII
Row: A
Grave: 2

Distinctions and medals 2

Points of interest 1

#1 Enlistment place

Additional information

James Martin Clement Neagle was a 28-year old ironworker from Port Pirie, South Australia. He volunteered in May 1916 and served with the Australian Infantry 50th Battalion in Flanders. He was wounded during the aftermath of the Battle of Messines and was heavily traumatized, suffering from shellshock for months. He was only able to rejoin his unit on 7 October 1917.

After having seen action during the Battle of Polygon Wood (26 September – 3 October 1917), the 4th Australian Division took part in the First Battle of Passchendaele (12 October 1917). Both of these attacks were stages of the Third Battle of Ypres. The latter was carried out by the 12th Brigade of the 4th Australian Division. The Brigade wasn’t able to capture its objective at the Keiberg Spur and was forced to withdraw. Overall the First Battle of Passchendaele had been an utter failure. Casualties had been high along the whole line, while no significant gains had been made.

On the following day the 50th Australian Battalion relieved the 49th Australian Battalion in the frontline near the hamlet of Nieuwemolen and Defy Crossing. German shelling of the Battalion’s positions was persistent throughout the following days. Meanwhile the 50th Battalion started wiring the front line. This job was completed except about 100 yards on the 18th of October 1917. From 10.15 p.m. to 5.45 a.m. the German artillery consistently shelled the frontline and the 50th Battalion’s rear. Both gas shells and high explosive shells were fired on the Battalion’s positions. The Battalion was relieved in the frontline on the following day.

Private James Martin Clement Neagle was killed in action on the 18th of October 1917. He was buried in the field on the Broodseinde Ridge near Celtic (D.29.d.40.20). The place of his original grave was approximately 2 kilometers south of the 50th Battalion’s position. This may indicate that Private Neagle may have been killed while he was deployed as a courier or while assisting another unit further down the line. His remains were exhumed after the war and were interred in Buttes New British Cemetery, Polygon Wood.

Files 1

Sources 7

"Passchendaele. The Day-by-Day Account", McCarthy C., London, Uniform, 2018, pg. 128-129.
Sources used
AIF-project
https://www.aif.adfa.edu.au/search
Sources used
Australian War Memorial
https://www.awm.gov.au/collection/P10687332
Sources used
CWGC
https://www.cwgc.org/find-war-dead/casualty/480377/neagle,-james-martin-clement/
Sources used
National Archives of Australia
http://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/SearchNRetrieve/Interface/SearchScreens/BasicSearch.aspx
Sources used
The Long, Long Trail
http://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/
Sources used
War Diary Australian Infantry 50th Bn.
https://www.awm.gov.au/collection/C1338583
Sources used

Pte
James Martin Clement Neagle

Informations sur naissance

Année de naissance:
1889
Lieu de naissance:
Port Pirie, South Australia, Australia

Informations générales

Dernière résidence connue:
Hummock Hill, South Australia, Australia
Profession:
Ironworker
Religion:
catholique romain

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Australia
Force armée:
Australian Imperial Force
Rang:
Private
Numéro de service:
2233A
Incorporation date:
11/05/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Unités:
 —  Australian Infantry, 50th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
18/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
Celtic Wood, Zonnebeke, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
28

Cimetière

Buttes New British Cemetery, Polygon Wood
Parcelle: XXVIII
Rangée: A
Tombe: 2

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 4

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Dernière résidence connue
#3 Lieu d'enrôlement
#4 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

James Martin Clement Neagle était un ferrailleur de 28 ans originaire de Port Pirie, en Australie-Méridionale. Il se porta volontaire en mai 1916 et servit dans le 50e bataillon de l'infanterie australienne dans les Flandres. Il fut blessé au lendemain de la bataille de Messines et fut fortement traumatisé, souffrant de chocs dus aux obus pendant des mois. Il n'a pu rejoindre son unité que le 7 octobre 1917.

Après avoir vu des combats pendant la bataille du bois du Polygone (26 septembre - 3 octobre 1917), la 4e Division australienne prit part à la première bataille de Passchendaele (12 octobre 1917). Ces deux attaques étaient des étapes de la troisième bataille d'Ypres. Cette dernière fut menée par la 12e Brigade de la 4e Division australienne. La brigade ne parvint pas à capturer son objectif à l'éperon de Keiberg et fut obligée de se retirer. Dans l'ensemble, la première bataille de Passchendaele avait été un échec total. Les pertes étaient élevées tout au long de la ligne, et aucun gain significatif n'avait été réalisé.

Le jour suivant, le 50e Bataillon australien releva le 49e Bataillon australien sur la ligne de front près du hameau de Nieuwemolen et de Defy Crossing. Les bombardements allemands sur les positions du bataillon furent persistants pendant les jours suivants. Pendant ce temps, le 50e Bataillon a commencé à câbler la ligne de front. Ce travail fut achevé à l'exception d'une centaine de mètres le 18 octobre 1917. De 22 h 15 à 5 h 45, l'artillerie allemande bombarda constamment la ligne de front et l'arrière du 50e Bataillon. Des obus à gaz et des obus explosifs ont été tirés sur les positions du bataillon. Le Bataillon fut relevé sur la ligne de front le jour suivant.

Le soldat de deuxième classe James Martin Clement Neagle fut tué au combat le 18 octobre 1917. Il fut enterré dans le champ sur la crête de Broodseinde près de Celtic (D.29.d.40.20). L'emplacement de sa tombe d'origine se trouvait à environ 2 kilomètres au sud de la position du 50e Bataillon. Cela peut indiquer que le soldat Neagle a pu être tué alors qu'il était déployé comme messager ou alors qu'il aidait une autre unité plus loin sur la ligne. Ses restes ont été exhumés après la guerre et ont été enterrés dans le nouveau cimetière britannique de Buttes, dans le bois du Polygone.

Fichiers 1

Sources 4

50th Infantry Battalion (Australian War Memorial, Campbell (AWM), AWM4 23/67/16).
https://www.awm.gov.au/
Sources utilisées
Chris McCarthy, Passchendaele: The Day-by-Day Account (London, Uniform, 2018), 128-129.
Sources utilisées
First Australian Imperial Force Personnel Dossiers, 1914-1920 (National Archives of Australia, Canberra (NAA), B2455).
https://www.naa.gov.au/
Sources utilisées
National Archives of Australia
http://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/SearchNRetrieve/Interface/SearchScreens/BasicSearch.aspx
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 3