L/Cpl
Alfred Cottrell

Information about birth

Year of birth:
1895
Place of birth:
Pickmere, Cheshire, England, United Kingdom

General information

last known residence:
6, Hart Street, Altrincham, Cheshire, England, United Kingdom
Profession:
Shop Assistant

Army information

Country:
England, United Kingdom
Force:
British Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Lance Corporal
Service number:
33035
Enlistment date:
10/12/1915
Enlistment place:
Altrincham, Cheshire, England, United Kingdom
Units:
 —  Cheshire Regiment, 13th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
10/08/1917
Place of death:
Westhoek, Zonnebeke, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
22

Memorial

Tyne Cot Memorial
Panel: 19L

Points of interest 4

#1 Place of birth
#2 Last known residence
#3 Enlistment place
#4 ‘Place of death’

My story

Alfred Cottrell, a former window cleaner, was born in Pickmere, Cheshire, England. He was the son of Joseph and Alice Cottrell. He enlisted on December 10, 1915, at Altrincham, Cheshire, England. He served as a lance corporal in the 13th Battalion Cheshire Regiment, of the 74th Brigade, of the 25th Division.

On the 10th of August 1917, the 74th Brigade took part in an attack on Westhoek, south of the Ypres-Roulers railway. They attacked on a frontline of about 1800 metres (2000 yards) wide, running parallel from the Frezenbergstraat from the railway until the crossroads south of Westhoek, near Glencorse Wood. The 74th Brigade attacked, from left to right, with the 11th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers, the 9th Loyal North Lancashire Regiment, the 2nd Irish Rifles and the 13th Battalion Cheshire Regiment. This attack had two objectives. The main objective was the Black Line running east of Westhoek from the Ypres-Roulers railway to Glencorse Wood. The Red Line, the second objective, was just 100 metres in front of the Black Line. The goal of this objective was to protect the men consolidating Black Line.

At 4:35 a.m. the attack commenced. The 13th Battalion Cheshire Regiment attacked in four waves. The first wave suffered heavy losses and failed to move up. The second and third wave were able to capture the Black Line, although the left flank was held up for a while by a strongpoint south of Westhoek. This point was eventually captured, but the left flank had suffered many casualties. This made it impossible for them to link up with the battalion on their right until after nightfall. At the end of the attack the 13th Battalion occupied the Black Line, from a point about 200 metres from the Frezenbergstraat-Grote Molenstraat crossroads to the north-western corner of Glencorse Wood. The fourth wave was supposed to move to the Red Line but came under heavy artillery fire on the way. The war diary states that only 1 NCO. and 14 men made it to the Red Line.

The front of the battalion was protected from counterattack by the Hanebeek Vally. This gentle stream had turned into a 30-metre-wide mud field. However, at 9:00 a.m. the troops in Glencorse Wood evacuated, opening the right fank of the battalion to enfilade fire from strongpoints in the wood. The troops held this position under shellfire until their relief on 11 August 1917. The war diary estimates 50 men were killed, 266 were wounded and 56 were missing between august 5th and 11th, 1917.

Alfred Cottrell, aged 22, was killed in action on August 10, 1917. Lance corporal Cottrell has no known grave and is remembered on panel 19L of the Tyne Cot Memorial.

Sources 3

13 Battalion Cheshire Regiment (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2246/3).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
74 Infantry Brigade: Headquarters (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2245/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
Census Returns of England and Wales, 1911 (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), RG14).
https://www.ancestry.com/
Sources used

More information 2

L/Cpl
Alfred Cottrell

Informations sur naissance

Année de naissance:
1895
Lieu de naissance:
Pickmere, Cheshire, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni

Informations générales

Dernière résidence connue:
Hart Street 6, Altrincham, Cheshire, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Profession:
Shop Assistant

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Force armée:
British Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Lance Corporal
Numéro de service:
33035
Incorporation date:
10/12/1915
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Altrincham, Cheshire, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Unités:
 —  Cheshire Regiment, 13th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
10/08/1917
Lieu de décès:
Westhoek, Zonnebeke, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
22

Mémorial

Tyne Cot Memorial
Panneau: 19L

Points d'intérêt 4

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Dernière résidence connue
#3 Lieu d'enrôlement
#4 "Lieu de décès"

Complément d'informations

Alfred Cottrell, ancien laveur de vitres, est né à Pickmere, dans le Cheshire, en Angleterre. Il était le fils de Joseph et Alice Cottrell. Il s'est engagé le 10 décembre 1915, à Altrincham, Cheshire, Angleterre. Il a servi comme caporal suppléant dans le 13e Bataillon du Cheshire Regiment, de la 74e Brigade, de la 25e Division.

Le 10 août 1917, la 74e Brigade a pris part à une attaque sur Westhoek, au sud de la voie ferrée Ypres-Roulers. Ils ont attaqué sur une ligne de front d'environ 1800 mètres (2000 yards) de large, parallèle à la Frezenbergstraat depuis la voie ferrée jusqu'au carrefour au sud de Westhoek, près du bois de Glencorse. La 74e Brigade attaque, de gauche à droite, avec le 11e Bataillon des Lancashire Fusiliers, le 9e Loyal North Lancashire Regiment, le 2e Irish Rifles et le 13e Bataillon du Cheshire Regiment. Cette attaque avait deux objectifs. L'objectif principal était la ligne noire, qui s'étendait à l'est de Westhoek, de la voie ferrée Ypres-Roulers au bois de Glencorse. La ligne rouge, le second objectif, se trouvait juste 100 mètres devant la ligne noire. Le but de cet objectif était de protéger les hommes qui consolidaient la ligne noire.

À 4 h 35 du matin, l'attaque a commencé. Le 13e Bataillon du Cheshire Regiment a attaqué en quatre vagues. La première vague a subi de lourdes pertes et n'a pas réussi à avancer. Les deuxième et troisième vagues parviennent à capturer la ligne noire, bien que le flanc gauche soit retenu pendant un certain temps par un point fort au sud de Westhoek. Ce point a finalement été capturé, mais le flanc gauche a subi de nombreuses pertes. Il leur était donc impossible de faire la jonction avec le bataillon sur leur droite avant la tombée de la nuit. À la fin de l'attaque, le 13e bataillon occupait la ligne noire, d'un point situé à environ 200 mètres du carrefour Frezenbergstraat-Grote Molenstraat jusqu'à l'angle nord-ouest du bois Glencorse. La quatrième vague était censée se déplacer vers la ligne rouge, mais elle a essuyé un feu d'artillerie intense en chemin. Le journal de guerre indique que seul un sous-officier et 14 hommes ont atteint la ligne rouge.

L'avant du bataillon était protégé de la contre-attaque par la vallée de Hanebeek. Ce doux cours d'eau s'était transformé en un champ de boue de 30 mètres de large. Cependant, à 9 heures du matin, les troupes du bois de Glencorse ont évacué, ouvrant le flanc droit du bataillon à des tirs d'enfilade depuis les points forts du bois. Les troupes tinrent cette position sous les tirs d'obus jusqu'à leur relève le 11 août 1917. Le journal de guerre estime que 50 hommes ont été tués, 266 ont été blessés et 56 ont été portés disparus entre le 5 et le 11 août 1917.

Alfred Cottrell, âgé de 22 ans, a été tué au combat le 10 août 1917. Le caporal suppléant Cottrell n'a pas de tombe connue et est commémoré sur le panneau 19L du Tyne Cot Memorial.

Sources 3

13 Battalion Cheshire Regiment (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2246/3).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
74 Infantry Brigade: Headquarters (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), WO 95/2245/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
Census Returns of England and Wales, 1911 (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), RG14).
https://www.ancestry.com/
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 2