OLt - SLt
Jean De Mot

Information about birth

Date of birth:
26/08/1876
Place of birth:
Brussels, Belgium

General information

last known residence:
Sint-Lambrechts-Woluwe, Brabant, Belgium
Profession:
conservator

Army information

Country:
Belgium
Force:
Belgian Army
Rank:
Sub-Lieutenant
Service number:
O/7077

Information about death

Date of death:
06/10/1918
Place of death:
Military hospital L'Océan, De Panne, Belgium
Cause of death:
Died of wounds (D.O.W.)
Age:
42

Cemetery

Belgische Militaire Begraafplaats De Panne
Plot: Unknown
Row: Unknown
Grave: F-258

Points of interest 4

#1 Place of birth
#2 Last known residence
#3 Place of wounding
#4 ‘Place of death’

My story

Jean Charles Paul Emile De Mot, a former conservator, was born on 26 augustus 1876 in Brussels, Belgium. He was the son of Émile and Pauline Orts. His father was the mayor Brussels between 1899 and 1909. Jean studied at the Université libre de Bruxelles and obtained a doctorate in classical philology. He married and had one daughter. From 1900 he worked at the Royal Museums of the Cinquantenaire, later becoming conservator of the museum. Jean De Mot enlisted as a volunteer at the outbreak of war in 1914. He served as a sub-lieutenant in the 3rd Section Balloonists, part of the Administrative group of the army troops. Sub-lieutenant De Mot was tasked with observing troop movements for directing artillery.

Sub-lieutenant De Mot took part in the Fifth Battle of Ypres. He was stationed near the ruins of Passchendaele after it’s capture on 28 September 1918. On 5 October 1918 a shell burst in front of shelter where De Mot and his superior officer, Captain-Commander Serge Martin, were seeking refuge.

Jean De Mot, aged 42, is presumed to have died of wounds on October 6, 1917 (although October 5 is often mentioned). The most likely scenario is that he died while being transported from Passchendaele to the Belgian Military Hospital L’Océan in De Panne. Sub-lieutenant De Mot was buried in the Belgian Military Cemetery of De Panne, grave F-258. A memorial plaque on the wall of the Cinquantenaire Museum in Brussels commemorates his life and death.

Sources 3

"Belgische Militaire Begraafplaats De Panne", Hangar Flying
https://www.hangarflying.eu/erfgoedsites/belgische-militaire-begraafplaats-de-panne/
Sources used
"De Mot, Jean (1876-1918)", Bestor
https://www.bestor.be/wiki/index.php/De_Mot,_Jean_(1876-1918)
Sources used
Wikimedia Commons, Jean de Mot memorial - Cinquantenaire Museum - Brussels, Belgium.
https://commons.wikimedia.org/
Sources used

OLt - SLt
Jean De Mot

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
26/08/1876
Lieu de naissance:
Bruxelles, Belgique

Informations générales

Dernière résidence connue:
Sint-Lambrechts-Woluwe, Brabant, Belgique
Profession:
conservateur

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Belgique
Force armée:
Armée belge
Rang:
Sous-lieutenant
Numéro de service:
O/7077

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
06/10/1918
Lieu de décès:
Hôpital militaire L'Océan, La Panne, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Died of wounds (D.O.W.)
Âge:
42

Cimetière

Belgische Militaire Begraafplaats De Panne
Parcelle: Inconnu
Rangée: Inconnu
Tombe: F-258

Points d'intérêt 4

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Dernière résidence connue
#3 Lieu de blessure
#4 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

Jean Charles Paul Emile De Mot, ancien conservateur, est né le 26 août 1876 à Bruxelles, en Belgique. Il est le fils d'Émile et de Pauline Orts. Son père a été bourgmestre de Bruxelles entre 1899 et 1909. Jean a étudié à l'Université libre de Bruxelles et a obtenu un doctorat en philologie classique. Il s'est marié et a eu une fille. A partir de 1900, il travaille aux Musées royaux du Cinquantenaire, dont il devient plus tard le conservateur. Jean De Mot s'engage comme volontaire à la déclaration de guerre en 1914. Il sert comme sous-lieutenant dans la 3e section d'aérostiers, qui fait partie du groupe administratif des troupes de l'armée. Le sous-lieutenant De Mot est chargé d'observer les mouvements de troupes pour diriger l'artillerie.

Le sous-lieutenant De Mot participe à la cinquième bataille d'Ypres. Il était stationné près des ruines de Passchendaele après sa capture le 28 septembre 1918. Le 5 octobre 1918, un obus a éclaté devant l'abri où De Mot et son officier supérieur, le capitaine-commandant Serge Martin, cherchaient refuge.

Jean De Mot, âgé de 42 ans, est présumé être mort de ses blessures le 6 octobre 1917 (bien que le 5 octobre soit souvent mentionné). Le scénario le plus probable est qu'il est mort pendant son transport de Passchendaele à l'hôpital militaire belge L'Océan à La Panne. Le sous-lieutenant De Mot a été enterré dans le cimetière militaire belge de La Panne, tombe F-258. Une plaque commémorative sur le mur du Musée du Cinquantenaire à Bruxelles rappelle sa vie et sa mort.

Sources 3

"Belgische Militaire Begraafplaats De Panne", Hangar Flying
https://www.hangarflying.eu/erfgoedsites/belgische-militaire-begraafplaats-de-panne/
Sources utilisées
"De Mot, Jean (1876-1918)", Bestor
https://www.bestor.be/wiki/index.php/De_Mot,_Jean_(1876-1918)
Sources utilisées
Wikimedia Commons, Jean de Mot memorial - Cinquantenaire Museum - Brussels, Belgium.
https://commons.wikimedia.org/
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 2