Pte
Donald Sinclair MacCallum

Information about birth

Date of birth:
20/06/1890
Place of birth:
Spring Hill, New South Wales, Australia

General information

Profession:
Drover

Army information

Country:
Australia
Force:
Australian Imperial Force
Rank:
Private
Service number:
3177A
Enlistment date:
27/10/1916
Enlistment place:
Emerald, Queensland, Australia
Units:
 —  Australian Infantry, 47th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
12/10/1917
Place of death:
Nieuwemolen, Zonnebeke, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
27

Memorial

Distinctions and medals 3

Points of interest 3

#1 Place of birth
#2 Enlistment place
#3 ‘Place of death’

My story

Private Donald Sinclair MacCallum – a drover from Alton Downs, Queensland - served in the Australian Infantry, 47th Battalion, part of the 12th Brigade, of the 4th Division.

On the 12th of October 1917, the 4th Division participated in the First Battle of Passchendaele, a phase in the Third Battle of Ypres. The task of the division was to form the right flank in the attack on Passchendaele Ridge, while the 3rd Division and the New Zealand Division formed the left flank.

The 4th Division was to attack with two Battalions, the 47th and the 48th. The objective of the former was the Red Line, and once this was consolidated, the 48th would pass through and consolidate their objective, the Blue Line. Together they had to attack up Keiberg Spur, along the Ypres-Roulers railway, and protect the flank of the 3rd Division who was on the left.

Around midnight on the 12th of October, the Division moved from the Anzac Ridge area, via Zonnebeke, to the jumping off lines. There they prepared for the coming battle.

At 5.20 am, the Division commenced the attack. The 47th Battalion was divided into four companies. “D” company attacked on the right, “C” company in the centre and “A” company on the right. “B” company provided support. The advance did not go very smooth due to the muddy ground and the water-filled shell holes.

Not long after zero hour, at 5.45 am, they had a blowback. Headquarters, which were situated on Broodseinde Ridge, was shelled by the Germans which resulted in a high number of casualties. Many signallers and runners lost their lives, which in turn resulted in problems with communication.

Nevertheless, the 47th Battalion managed to reach the Red Line on time, with exception of a portion near Assyria, and the 48th passed through. On their way to the objective, “C” company met some resistance near Decoy Wood.

The afternoon was less successful. The War Diary mentions that the German shelling was heavy and accurate, that aeroplanes flew low to shoot down troops, and German snipers and machine gunners were active but could not be located.

At 4.10 pm, the Germans made their first counter-attack, from the direction of Assyria ridge. At 5 pm, they began the second counter-attack. At first, these were held off, but due to the withdrawal of the 9th Brigade of the 3rd Division, the 47th and 48th Battalion had to abandon their positions. They commenced a gradual withdrawal along the railway and ended up back at their original starting lines.

Private Donald Sinclair MacCallum of “C” Company was killed in action on the 12th of October 1917, in the vicinity of Nieuwemolen. According to a statement in his Red Cross Wounded and Missing File, private MacCallum, aged 27, was hit by shell shortly after zero hour. His remains were never identified. He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial.

Files 1

Sources 4

47th Battalion Australian Infantry (Australian War Memorial, Campbell (AWM), AWM4 23/64/17).
https://www.awm.gov.au/
Sources used
Deayton, C. Battle scarred : The 47th Battalion in the First World War. (Newport: Big Sky Publishing, 2011) 169-179.
Sources used
First Australian Imperial Force Personnel Dossiers, 1914-1920 (National Archives of Australia, Canberra (NAA), B2455).
http://www.naa.gov.au/
Sources used
McCarthy, Chris. Passchendaele: the Day-by-Day Account. (Londen: Unicorn Publishing Group, 2018), 113-114.
Sources used

More information 3

Pte
Donald Sinclair MacCallum

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
20/06/1890
Lieu de naissance:
Spring Hill, New South Wales, Australia

Informations générales

Profession:
Conducteur de bétail

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Australia
Force armée:
Australian Imperial Force
Rang:
Private
Numéro de service:
3177A
Incorporation date:
27/10/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Emerald, Queensland, Australia
Unités:
 —  Australian Infantry, 47th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
12/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
Nieuwemolen, Zonnebeke, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
27

Mémorial

Distinctions et médailles 3

1914-15 Star
Médaille
British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 3

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Lieu d'enrôlement
#3 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

Le soldat de deuxième classe Donald Sinclair MacCallum - un conducteur de bétail originaire d'Alton Downs, dans le Queensland - servait dans l'infanterie australienne, au 47e bataillon, qui faisait partie de la 12e brigade de la 4e division.

Le 12 octobre 1917, la 4e division participa à la première bataille de Passchendaele, une phase de la troisième bataille d'Ypres. La mission de la division était de former le flanc droit de l'attaque sur la crête de Passchendaele, tandis que la 3e division et la division néo-zélandaise formaient le flanc gauche.

La 4e Division devait attaquer avec deux bataillons, le 47e et le 48e. L'objectif du premier était la ligne rouge, et une fois celle-ci consolidée, le 48e devait passer et consolider son objectif, la ligne bleue. Ensemble, ils devaient attaquer en remontant l'éperon de Keiberg, le long de la voie ferrée Ypres-Roulers, et protéger le flanc de la 3e Division qui se trouvait sur la gauche.

Vers minuit le 12 octobre, la division quitta la zone de l'Anzac Ridge, via Zonnebeke, pour rejoindre les lignes de saut. Là, elle se prépare à la bataille à venir.

À 5 h 20 du matin, la Division a commencé l'attaque. Le 47e Bataillon était divisé en quatre compagnies. La compagnie "D" attaquait sur la droite, la compagnie "C" au centre et la compagnie "A" sur la droite. La compagnie "B" assurait le soutien. L'avance ne s'est pas déroulée sans heurts à cause du sol boueux et des trous d'obus remplis d'eau.

Peu après l'heure zéro, à 5h45, ils ont eu un retour de flamme. Le quartier général, qui était situé sur la crête de Broodseinde, a été bombardé par les Allemands, ce qui a entraîné un grand nombre de pertes. De nombreux signaleurs et coureurs ont perdu la vie, ce qui a entraîné des problèmes de communication.

Néanmoins, le 47e bataillon a réussi à atteindre la ligne rouge à temps, à l'exception d'une partie près d'Assyria, et le 48e est passé. En route vers l'objectif, la compagnie "C" a rencontré une certaine résistance près du bois de Decoy.

L'après-midi fut moins fructueuse. Le journal de guerre mentionne que les bombardements allemands étaient lourds et précis, que des avions volaient à basse altitude pour abattre les troupes, et que des tireurs d'élite et des mitrailleurs allemands étaient actifs mais ne pouvaient être localisés.

À 16 h 10, les Allemands ont lancé leur première contre-attaque, depuis la direction de la crête d'Assyria. À 17 heures, ils ont commencé la deuxième contre-attaque. Celle-ci est d'abord repoussée, mais en raison du retrait de la 9e brigade de la 3e division, les 47e et 48e bataillons doivent abandonner leurs positions. Ils entament un retrait progressif le long de la voie ferrée et finissent par revenir à leurs lignes de départ initiales.

Le soldat de deuxième classe Donald Sinclair MacCallum de la compagnie " C " fut tué au combat le 12 octobre 1917, dans les environs de Nieuwemolen. Selon une déclaration figurant dans son dossier de blessé et de disparu de la Croix Rouge, le soldat MacCallum, âgé de 27 ans, a été touché par un obus peu après l'heure zéro. Ses restes n'ont jamais été identifiés. Son souvenir est gravé sur le mémorial d'Ypres (Porte de Menin).

Fichiers 1

Sources 4

47th Battalion Australian Infantry (Australian War Memorial, Campbell (AWM), AWM4 23/64/17).
https://www.awm.gov.au/
Sources utilisées
Deayton, C. Battle scarred : The 47th Battalion in the First World War. (Newport: Big Sky Publishing, 2011) 169-179.
Sources utilisées
First Australian Imperial Force Personnel Dossiers, 1914-1920 (National Archives of Australia, Canberra (NAA), B2455).
http://www.naa.gov.au/
Sources utilisées
McCarthy, Chris. Passchendaele: the Day-by-Day Account. (Londen: Unicorn Publishing Group, 2018), 113-114.
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 3