Pte
David Harold Binns Brown

Information about birth

Date of birth:
11/04/1895
Place of birth:
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

General information

Profession:
Carpenter
Religion:
Baptist

Army information

Country:
New Zealand
Force:
New Zealand Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Private
Service number:
23962
Enlistment date:
08/02/1916
Enlistment place:
Trentham, Wellington, New Zealand
Units:
 —  New Zealand Machine Gun Corps, 1st Coy.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
04/10/1917
Place of death:
's Gravenstafel, Passchendaele, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
22

Memorial

Distinctions and medals 2

Points of interest 3

#1 Place of birth
#2 Enlistment place
#3 ‘Place of death’

Additional information

David Harold Binns Brown, a former carpenter, was born in Auckland, New Zealand. He was the son of Frederick William and Ellen McKelvie. On February 8th, 1916, he enlisted in Trentham, Upper Hutt, New Zealand. He embarked for Europe at Wellington on May 31, 1916, landing in at Devonport on the 26th of July. David Brown served as a private in the 1st New Zealand Machine Gun Company, part of the 1st New Zealand Brigade, of the New Zealand Division.

On the 4th of October 1917 the 1st New Zealand Machine Gun Company took part in the Battle of Broodseinde. The New Zealand Division planned to attack with the 1st Brigade and 4th Brigade. They occupied the about 1800 metres long frontline from Vale House to Dochy Farm. The 2nd Brigade was placed in reserve. The attack had two objectives. The first objective or “Red Line” lay about 450 metres from the jump-off line, just beyond s’ Gravenstafel. “Blue Line”, the second objective, lay about 450 metres east of “Red Line”. All New Zealand Machine Gun Companies would take part in this battle. The 2nd, 3rd, and Divisional Companies and one section of the 1st and 4th Companies would do barrage work. The remaining sections of the 1st and 4th New Zealand Machine Gun Companies would be attached to the attacking 1st Brigade and 4th Brigade respectively.

In the night between October 2nd/3rd ammunition was brought up to the front. The barrage guns were split into three groups. “A” and “B” group would provide covering fire during the attack on the first objective. The guns of “A” group were set up near Hill 35, those of “B” group between Fortuin and Somme. “C” group would support the attack on the second objective and was initially placed forward, from Fokker Farm running along the Zonnebekestraat. This position proved to be unsuitable, however, and they were moved forward again, closer to the front line held by the infantry.

At 5.25 a.m. on October 4th, 1917, the 1st Brigade and 4th Brigade attacked. The guns of “A” and “B” groups fired until 8.10 a.m. Then “C” group opened fire during the push for the final objective. Their guns ceased at 9.10 a.m. While “C” group fired, “A” and “B” group moved forward, except for 12 guns from “A” group. These guns remained in their initial position and became the divisional reserve. The barrage guns were relieved on the morning of the 6th.

It's unclear what the 1st New Zealand Machine Gun Company did on the 4th of October as their war diary is very vague: “4th October. Attacked 6 a.m. with success; casualties 25 per cent. Counter-attacks defeated.” Major J.H. Luxford, the author of the official history of the New Zealand Machine Gun Corps, writes the following: “It is unfortunate that it is impossible to give details of the action of the two sections of the 1st Company that went forward with the 1st Brigade, but the records are too meagre to give a sufficient clue to enable the writer to even conjecture what took place.” What we do know is that the 1st Brigade started their attack near Wurst Farm, crossed the Hanebeek and were dug-in close to the second objective near Waterloo by the end of October 4th.

David Brown, aged 22, was killed in action on the 4th of October 1917. It’s unclear if he attacked with the 1st Brigade or if he was posted in the section tasked with barrage duty. Private Brown has no known grave and is remembered on panel 9 of the New Zealand Apse of the Tyne Cot Memorial.

Files 1

Sources 5

Baker, Chris. "New Zealand Division." The Long, Long Trail. Consulted on 10.6.2022.
http://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/order-of-battle-of-divisions/new-zealand-division/
Sources used
Cenotaph of Brown, David Harold Binns. Online Cenotaph, Auckland War Memorial Museum.
https://www.aucklandmuseum.com/war-memorial/online-cenotaph
Sources used
Luxford, John H. With the Machinegunners in France and Palestine : The official history of the New Zealand Machine Corps in the Great World War 1914-1918. (Uckfield: The Naval & Military Press Ltd, 1923), 86-91.
Sources used
McCarthy, Chris. Passchendaele : The Day-by-Day account (London: Unicorn Publishing Group, 2018), 112-114.
Sources used
Personnel file of Brown, David Harold Binns. Archives New Zealand, New Zealand Defence Force, Personnel Archives, Box 3, Record 0018783
https://www.archives.govt.nz/
Sources used

Pte
David Harold Binns Brown

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
11/04/1895
Lieu de naissance:
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Informations générales

Profession:
Carpenter
Religion:
Baptist

Informations service militaire

Pays:
New Zealand
Force armée:
New Zealand Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Private
Numéro de service:
23962
Incorporation date:
08/02/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Trentham, Wellington, New Zealand
Unités:
 —  New Zealand Machine Gun Corps, 1st Coy.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
04/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
's Gravenstafel, Passchendaele, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
22

Mémorial

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 3

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Lieu d'enrôlement
#3 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

David Harold Binns Brown, ancien charpentier, est né à Auckland, en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il était le fils de Frederick William et Ellen McKelvie. Le 8 février 1916, il s'est engagé à Trentham, Upper Hutt, en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il a embarqué pour l'Europe à Wellington le 31 mai 1916, débarquant à Devonport le 26 juillet. David Brown servait en tant que simple soldat dans la 1ère compagnie néo-zélandaise de mitrailleurs, qui faisait partie de la 1ère brigade néo-zélandaise de la division néo-zélandaise.

Le 4 octobre 1917, la 1ère compagnie de mitrailleurs néo-zélandais a pris part à la bataille de Broodseinde. La division néo-zélandaise avait prévu d'attaquer avec la 1re brigade et la 4e brigade. Elles occupaient la ligne de front d'environ 1 800 mètres de long, de Vale House à Dochy Farm. La 2e brigade est placée en réserve. L'attaque avait deux objectifs. Le premier objectif ou "ligne rouge" se trouvait à environ 450 mètres de la ligne de saut, juste au-delà de s' Gravenstafel. La "ligne bleue", le second objectif, se trouvait à environ 450 mètres à l'est de la "ligne rouge". Toute la compagnie néo-zélandaise de mitrailleuses allait prendre part à cette bataille. Les 2e, 3e, et compagnies divisionnaires et une section des 1re et 4e compagnies effectueraient des travaux de barrage. Les autres sections des 1ère et 4ème compagnies de mitrailleuses néo-zélandaises seront attachées à la 1ère brigade et à la 4ème brigade qui attaquent respectivement.

Dans la nuit du 2 au 3 octobre, les munitions sont acheminées vers le front. Les canons de barrage sont divisés en trois groupes. Les groupes "A" et "B" devaient assurer un tir de couverture pendant l'attaque du premier objectif. Les canons du groupe "A" sont installés près de la cote 35, ceux du groupe "B" entre Fortuin et la Somme. Le groupe "C" devait soutenir l'attaque du deuxième objectif et fut initialement placé à l'avant, à partir de la ferme Fokker, le long de la Zonnebekestraat. Cette position s'est toutefois avérée inadaptée, et ils ont été déplacés à nouveau vers l'avant, plus près de la ligne de front tenue par l'infanterie.

À 6 heures du matin, le 4 octobre 1917, la 1re brigade et la 4e brigade attaquèrent. Les canons des groupes " A " et " B " tirent jusqu'à 8 h 10. Puis le groupe " C " ouvre le feu pendant la poussée vers l'objectif final. Leurs canons ont cessé de tirer à 9 h 10. Pendant que le groupe "C" tirait, les groupes "A" et "B" avançaient, à l'exception de 12 canons du groupe "A". Ces canons sont restés dans leur position initiale et sont devenus la réserve divisionnaire. Les canons de barrage ont été relevés le matin du 6.

Il est difficile de savoir ce qu'a fait la 1ère compagnie néo-zélandaise de mitrailleuses le 4 octobre, car son journal de guerre est très vague : " 4 octobre. Attaqué à 6 heures du matin avec succès ; pertes de 25 pour cent. Contre-attaques défaites". Le major J.H. Luxford, auteur de l'histoire officielle du corps de mitrailleurs néo-zélandais, écrit ce qui suit : "Il est regrettable qu'il soit impossible de donner des détails sur l'action des deux sections de la 1ère compagnie qui ont avancé avec la 1ère brigade, mais les archives sont trop maigres pour donner un indice suffisant permettant à l'auteur de faire ne serait-ce que des conjectures sur ce qui s'est passé." Ce que nous savons, c'est que la 1re brigade a commencé son attaque près de Wurst Farm, a traversé la Hanebeek et était retranchée près du deuxième objectif près de Waterloo à la fin du 4 octobre.

David Brown, âgé de 22 ans, a été tué au combat le 4 octobre 1917. On ne sait pas s'il a attaqué avec la 1ère Brigade ou s'il était affecté à la section chargée du service de barrage. Le soldat Brown n'a pas de tombe connue et son souvenir figure sur le panneau 9 de l'abside néo-zélandaise du Tyne Cot Memorial.

Fichiers 1

Sources 5

Baker, Chris. "New Zealand Division." The Long, Long Trail. Consulté le 10.6.2022.
http://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/order-of-battle-of-divisions/new-zealand-division/
Sources utilisées
Cénotaphe de Brown, David Harold Binns. Online Cenotaph, Auckland War Memorial Museum.
https://www.aucklandmuseum.com/war-memorial/online-cenotaph
Sources utilisées
Dossier personnel de Brown, David Harold Binns. Archives New Zealand, New Zealand Defence Force, Personnel Archives, Box 3, Record 0018783
https://www.archives.govt.nz/
Sources utilisées
Luxford, John H. With the Machinegunners in France and Palestine : The official history of the New Zealand Machine Corps in the Great World War 1914-1918. (Uckfield: The Naval & Military Press Ltd, 1923), 86-91.
Sources utilisées
McCarthy, Chris. Passchendaele : The Day-by-Day account (London: Unicorn Publishing Group, 2018), 112-114.
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 4