Information about birth

Date of birth:
05/10/1898
Place of birth:
Hannover, Hannover, Kingdom of Prussia, German Empire

General information

Profession:
High School Student
Religion:
Lutheran

Army information

Country:
German Empire
Force:
Imperial German Army
Rank:
Fusilier
Units:
 —  Füsilier-Regiment Feldmarschall Prinz Albrecht von Preußen (Hannoversches) Nr. 73  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
26/10/1917
Place of death:
Kampftruppen-Kommandeur I.R. 73, Paddebeek, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
19

Cemetery

Stadtfriedhof Stöcken
Plot: Unknown
Row: Unknown
Grave: Unknown

Points of interest 2

#1 Place of birth
#2 ‘Place of death’

My story

At the age of 12, Carl Lange, his elder brother Fritz and some friends founded the Hanoverian football club ‘SV Arminia’. Carl was a true football star: as their captain he led Die Blauen (The Blues) to many victories, including the North German title. By 1917, most German football players were recruited in the German army. Many would not return to the pitch. One of them was 19 year-old Carl Lange.

Carl Lange volunteered with the 73rd Infantry Regiment Albrecht von Preussen, the regiment of Ernst Jünger. He was part of the 8. Kompanie. On 18 and 19 October 1917, troops of this regiment were stationed in the region of Ingelmunster and Izegem. They went over Roeselare and Oostnieuwkerke towards the area north of Passendale. The troops passed the ruins of Nordhof on the heights north of Passendale, called Veldt Farm by the British, and took over the Abschnitt ‘Süd’.

On the 25th of October, in anticipation of the attack on the following day, the British started to shell the German positions. The shelling continued during the night, and after the British-Canadian attack started on the 26th, Carl’s Kompanie was ordered to take part in a desperate counter-attack, in the direction of the Kampftruppen-Kommandeur or K.T.K., a fortified Frontline Battalion HQ, which has now disappeared. They went forward in broad daylight. In full view of the allied lines. Ernst Jünger would describe the fateful attack in his WWI novel, Storm of Steel:

“After just a few steps, we came under rifle fire from the opposite hills and had to jump from crater to crater in order to move forward. As we crossed the next slope, the fire became more intense and we took refuge in a string of craters, where we awaited the cover of darkness.”

Carl was killed by shellfire during the rash counter-attack. On the 6th and 10th of November 1917, the German army gave way under persistent Canadian assaults. Passchendaele fell, but both sides were at their wits' end.

The news of the death of Carl Lange was hard for the Hanoverians. The local newspaper published the last letter he sent home:

"Dear mother, sister, other relatives. Tonight we go into position. If I leave my life there, do not cry for me […] Comfort yourself with the thought that so many families have also lost their loved ones. Say hello to daddy once again. I bid you farewell.

Your Carl."

His elder brother Fritz received permission to return Carl’s remains to Hannover, where Carl was buried in the communal cemetery of Stöcken.

Files 1

Sources 2

"Geschichte des Füsilier-Regiment Generalfeldmarschall Prinz Albrecht von Preußen (Hann.) Nr. 73", Voigt H., Berlin, Verlag Bernhard & Graefe, 1938.
Sources used
Ancestry
https://www.ancestry.com
Further reference

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
05/10/1898
Lieu de naissance:
Hannover, Empire allemand

Informations générales

Profession:
Élève
Religion:
Lutheran

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Empire allemand
Force armée:
Deutsches Heer
Rang:
Fusilier
Unités:
 —  Füsilier-Regiment Feldmarschall Prinz Albrecht von Preußen (Hannoversches) Nr. 73  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
26/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
Kampftruppen-Kommandeur I.R. 73, Paddebeek, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
19

Cimetière

Stadtfriedhof Stöcken
Parcelle: Inconnu
Rangée: Inconnu
Tombe: Inconnu

Points d'intérêt 2

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 "Lieu de décès"

Complément d'informations

À l'âge de 12 ans, Carl Lange, son frère aîné Fritz et quelques amis ont fondé le club de football hanovrien "SV Arminia". Carl était une véritable star du football : en tant que capitaine, il a mené Die Blauen (Les Bleus) à de nombreuses victoires, dont le titre de champion d'Allemagne du Nord. En 1917, la plupart des joueurs de football allemands étaient recrutés dans l'armée allemande. Beaucoup ne reviendront pas sur le terrain. L'un d'entre eux est Carl Lange, âgé de 19 ans.

Carl Lange s'est porté volontaire dans le 73e régiment d'infanterie Albrecht von Preussen, le régiment d'Ernst Jünger. Il faisait partie de la 8e Kompanie. Les 18 et 19 octobre 1917, les troupes de ce régiment étaient stationnées dans la région d'Ingelmunster et d'Izegem. Elles ont traversé Roeselare et Oostnieuwkerke en direction de la zone située au nord de Passendale. Les troupes passent devant les ruines de Nordhof sur les hauteurs au nord de Passendale, appelées Veldt Farm par les Britanniques, et reprennent l'Abschnitt 'Süd'.

Le 25 octobre, en prévision de l'attaque du lendemain, les Britanniques commencent à bombarder les positions allemandes. Le bombardement se poursuit pendant la nuit, et après le début de l'attaque canado-britannique le 26, la Kompanie de Carl reçoit l'ordre de participer à une contre-attaque désespérée, en direction du Kampftruppen-Kommandeur ou K.T.K., un bunker aujourd'hui disparu. Ils ont avancé en plein jour. En pleine vue des lignes alliées. Ernst Jünger décrira l'attaque fatidique dans son roman sur la Première Guerre mondiale, Tempête d'acier :

"Après seulement quelques pas, nous avons été pris sous le feu des fusils provenant des collines opposées et avons dû sauter de cratère en cratère pour pouvoir avancer. Lorsque nous avons franchi la pente suivante, le feu est devenu plus intense et nous nous sommes réfugiés dans un chapelet de cratères, où nous avons attendu le couvert de l'obscurité."

Carl fut tué par un tir d'obus lors de la contre-attaque précipitée. Les 6 et 10 novembre 1917, l'armée allemande cède sous les assauts persistants des Canadiens. Passchendaele tombe, mais les deux camps sont à bout de nerfs.

La nouvelle de la mort de Carl Lange fut dure à entendre pour les Hanovriens. Le journal local publia la dernière lettre qu'il avait envoyée chez lui :

"Chère mère, sœur, autres parents. Ce soir, nous partons en position. Si j'y laisse ma vie, ne pleurez pas pour moi [...] Consolez-vous en pensant que tant de familles ont également perdu leurs proches. Dis encore une fois bonjour à papa. Je te dis adieu.

Ton Carl."

Son frère aîné Fritz a obtenu la permission de transférer la dépouille mortelle de Carl à Hanovre, où Carl a été enterré dans le cimetière municipal de Stöcken.

Fichiers 1

Sources 2

"Geschichte des Füsilier-Regiment Generalfeldmarschall Prinz Albrecht von Preußen (Hann.) Nr. 73", Voigt H., Berlin, Verlag Bernhard & Graefe, 1938.
Sources utilisées
Ancestry
https://www.ancestry.com
Autre référence