Pte
George Frederick Reynolds

Information about birth

Year of birth:
1898
Place of birth:
Echuca, Victoria, Australia

General information

Profession:
Farmer Labourer

Army information

Country:
Australia
Force:
Australian Imperial Force
Rank:
Private
Service number:
6549
Enlistment date:
25/08/1916
Enlistment place:
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Units:
 —  Australian Infantry, 6th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
04/10/1917
Place of death:
Celtic Wood, Zonnebeke, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
19

Memorial

Distinctions and medals 2

Points of interest 3

#1 Place of birth
#2 Enlistment place
#3 ‘Place of death’

My story

Private George Frederick Reynolds was born in 1898 to Mr. George Reynolds and Mrs. Henrietta Reynolds at Echuca, Victoria, Australia. Then 18-year old, George was a farm labourer at the time of enlistment. On the 25th of August 1916 he enlisted at Melbourne and embarked on the HMAT Nestor A71 on the 2nd of October 1916. He would serve in the 6th Australian Infantry Battalion (2nd Australian Brigade, 1st Australian Division).
The 1st Australian Division participated in the Battle of Broodseinde, a phase of the Third Battle of Ypres. The Division had to advance on the right of the village of Zonnebeke and had to capture and secure the Broodseinde Ridge and a part of the Passchendaele-Beselare Road. Its attack was carried by two Brigades. The 1st Australian Brigade and 2nd Australian Brigade. The 2nd Australian Brigade firstly attacked with the 8th Battalion. Once they had captured the first objective the 6th and 7th Battalions would move through to the second objective.
The 6th battalion moved into position at about 02.00 a.m. While the Battalion was waiting till the sign to attack the German artillery laid down a very heavy barrage on the line. Many Australians were caught in the open and the Battalions in the line suffered heavy casualties. The German shelling did not indicate any pre-knowledge of an Australian attack, but was a precursor to a German attack that was due to commence coincidentally with the Australian attack. When the German infantry attacked they were caught in the allied barrage, which preceded the Australian assault. The barrage drove everything beyond it, inflicting very heavy casualties on the German defenders. The German soldiers had almost no place to hide. The ones that did survive the heavy shelling were quickly dispersed, killed or taken prisoner by the advancing troops. Even the Germans in the concrete strongpoints were utterly shocked. Most of them surrendered without putting up a fight.
The main resistance of the 6th Battalion’s advance came from a large crater, near Retaliation Farm, in which a pill-box was situated. This position supported by other nearby posts. Bombing parties of the 6th Battalion quickly outflanked the positions and eventually managed to silence or capture the defenders.
Meanwhile the 8th Battalion had advanced through the marsh and tree stumps of Romulus and Remus Woods, north of the hamlet of Molenaarelsthoek. They arrived at the first objective, the red line, around 07.15 a.m.
Around 08.00 a.m. the 7th and 6th Battalions moved through the 8th Battalion and carried on the advance. They quickly captured the summit of the ridge. While passing west of Celtic Wood, the 6th Battalion was now fired upon from distant machine gun positions on the Keiberg. At one stage the advance on Celtic Wood was halted by a German strongpoint. It was silenced by a Lewis gun team and by noon, the Australians had consolidated their positions astride the ridge.
No counter-attacks were launched and the battalion kept on holding the line till they were relieved on the next day.
The final resting place of his body remains, to this day, unknown. He is commemorated on panel 7 of the Menin Gate Memorial at Ypres.

Files 1

Sources 8

"As Rough As Bags, the History of the 6th Battalion, 1st AIF, 1914-1919", Austin R.J., A Slouch Hat Publications,sd
Sources used
AIF Project
https://www.aif.adfa.edu.au/showPerson?pid=253181&printFormat=print
Sources used
Ancestry
https://www.ancestry.co.uk/
Sources used
Australian War Memorial
https://www.awm.gov.au/advanced-search/people?people_preferred_name=george+frederick+reynolds&people_service_number=6549&people_unit=
Sources used
CWGC
https://www.cwgc.org/find-records/find-war-dead/casualty-details/1600687/george-frederick-reynolds/
Sources used
National Archives of Australia
https://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/SearchNRetrieve/Interface/DetailsReports/ItemDetail.aspx?Barcode=8029225&isAv=N
Sources used
The Long, Long Trail
https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/
Sources used
War Diary, 6th Bn. Australian Infantry
https://www.awm.gov.au/collection/C1346444
Sources used

Pte
George Frederick Reynolds

Informations sur naissance

Année de naissance:
1898
Lieu de naissance:
Echuca, Victoria, Australia

Informations générales

Profession:
Farmer Labourer

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Australia
Force armée:
Australian Imperial Force
Rang:
Private
Numéro de service:
6549
Incorporation date:
25/08/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Unités:
 —  Australian Infantry, 6th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
04/10/1917
Lieu de décès:
Celtic Wood, Zonnebeke, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
19

Mémorial

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 3

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Lieu d'enrôlement
#3 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

Le soldat de deuxième classe George Frederick Reynolds est né en 1898 de M. George Reynolds et Mme Henrietta Reynolds à Echuca, Victoria, Australie. Alors âgé de 18 ans, George était ouvrier agricole au moment de son engagement. Le 25 août 1916, il s'engagea à Melbourne et embarqua sur le HMAT Nestor A71 le 2 octobre 1916. Il allait servir dans le 6e Bataillon d'infanterie australien (2e Brigade australienne, 1re Division australienne).
La 1ère Division australienne participa à la bataille de Broodseinde, une phase de la troisième bataille d'Ypres. La division devait avancer sur la droite du village de Zonnebeke et devait capturer et sécuriser la crête de Broodseinde et une partie de la route Passchendaele-Beselare. Son attaque fut portée par deux brigades. La 1ère Brigade australienne et la 2ème Brigade australienne. La 2e brigade australienne attaqua d'abord avec le 8e bataillon. Après avoir capturé le premier objectif, les 6e et 7e bataillons devaient passer au deuxième objectif.
Le 6e bataillon se mit en position vers 02h00 du matin. Alors que le bataillon attendait le signal pour attaquer, l'artillerie allemande lança un barrage très lourd sur la ligne. De nombreux Australiens furent pris à découvert et les bataillons de la ligne subirent de lourdes pertes. Le bombardement allemand n'indiquait pas une connaissance préalable d'une attaque australienne, mais était un précurseur d'une attaque allemande qui devait commencer par coïncidence avec l'attaque australienne. Lorsque l'infanterie allemande attaqua, elle fut prise dans le barrage allié, qui précédait l'attaque australienne. Le barrage repoussa tout ce qui se trouvait au-delà, infligeant de très lourdes pertes aux défenseurs allemands. Les soldats allemands n'avaient pratiquement aucun endroit où se cacher. Ceux qui survécurent au bombardement intensif furent rapidement dispersés, tués ou faits prisonniers par les troupes qui avançaient. Même les Allemands qui se trouvaient dans les points d'appui en béton ont été complètement choqués. La plupart d'entre eux se sont rendus sans se battre.
La principale résistance à l'avancée du 6e bataillon est venue d'un grand cratère, près de la ferme des représailles, dans lequel se trouvait une casemate. Cette position était soutenue par d'autres postes proches. Les groupes de bombardiers du 6e Bataillon ont rapidement débordé les positions et ont finalement réussi à réduire au silence ou à capturer les défenseurs.
Pendant ce temps, le 8e bataillon avait avancé à travers les marais et les souches d'arbres des bois de Romulus et Remus, au nord du hameau de Molenaarelsthoek. Ils sont arrivés au premier objectif, la ligne rouge, vers 07h15.
Vers 08h00, les 7e et 6e Bataillons ont dépassé le 8e Bataillon et ont poursuivi leur progression. Ils s'emparent rapidement du sommet de la crête. En passant à l'ouest du bois Celtic, le 6e Bataillon a été pris pour cible par des positions de mitrailleuses éloignées sur le Keiberg. À un moment donné, l'avance sur le bois Celtic a été arrêtée par un point d'appui allemand. Il fut réduit au silence par une équipe de mitrailleuses Lewis et à midi, les Australiens avaient consolidé leurs positions à cheval sur la crête.
Aucune contre-attaque ne fut lancée et le bataillon tint bon jusqu'à ce qu'il soit relevé le jour suivant.
Le lieu de repos final de son corps reste, à ce jour, inconnu. Il est commémoré sur le panneau 7 du mémorial de la Porte de Menin à Ypres.

Fichiers 1

Sources 8

"As Rough As Bags, the History of the 6th Battalion, 1st AIF, 1914-1919", Austin R.J., A Slouch Hat Publications,sd
Sources utilisées
AIF Project
https://www.aif.adfa.edu.au/showPerson?pid=253181&printFormat=print
Sources utilisées
Ancestry
https://www.ancestry.co.uk/
Sources utilisées
Australian War Memorial
https://www.awm.gov.au/advanced-search/people?people_preferred_name=george+frederick+reynolds&people_service_number=6549&people_unit=
Sources utilisées
CWGC
https://www.cwgc.org/find-records/find-war-dead/casualty-details/1600687/george-frederick-reynolds/
Sources utilisées
National Archives of Australia
https://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/SearchNRetrieve/Interface/DetailsReports/ItemDetail.aspx?Barcode=8029225&isAv=N
Sources utilisées
The Long, Long Trail
https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/
Sources utilisées
War Diary, 6th Bn. Australian Infantry
https://www.awm.gov.au/collection/C1346444
Sources utilisées