Pte
Edward Henry Bennett

Information about birth

Date of birth:
12/11/1882
Place of birth:
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

General information

Profession:
Tile Layer
Religion:
Church of England

Army information

Country:
Canada
Force:
Canadian Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Private
Service number:
669668
Enlistment date:
06/02/1916
Enlistment place:
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Units:
 —  Canadian Infantry, 3rd Bn. (Toronto Regiment)  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
06/11/1917
Place of death:
Lijssenthoek, Remy Siding, No. 2 Canadian Casualty Clearing Station, Belgium
Cause of death:
Died of wounds (D.O.W.)
Age:
34

Cemetery

Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery
Plot: XXI
Row: GG
Grave: 12

Distinctions and medals 2

Points of interest 4

#1 Place of birth
#2 Enlistment place
#3 Place of wounding
#4 ‘Place of death’

My story

Edward Henry Bennett, a former tile layer, was born on the 12th of November 1882, in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. He was married and had a daughter, Helen. On February 6th, 1916, he enlisted in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Edward served as a Private in the 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion, part of the 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade, of the 1st Canadian Infantry Division.

On the nights of November 4th/5th and 5th/6th, the 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade relieved the 3rd Canadian Infantry Brigade in the field west of Passchendaele. The 2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion held the left flank between the Paddebeek and the s’ Graventafelstraat. The 1st Canadian Infantry Battalion occupied the right side, between the s’ Graventafelstraat the Stroombeek. The 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion was in support and the 4th Canadian Infantry Battalion was in reserve near s’ Graventafel.

On November 4th, 1917, the 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade received an order to attack on the 6th. The attack had three objectives. The first objective was a line from the Mosselmarkt area, along the 4de Regiment Karabiniersstraat to the Stroombeek. The second objective ran from Goudberg (near Valour and Vegetable Farm) to the s’ Graventafelstraat-Osselstraat crossroad until the Stroombeek. The final objective was about 150 to 200 metres in front of the second objective and from the Paardebosstraat in front of Valour Farm through the crossroads south of Venture Farm to a point between the Westrozebekestraat and the Doornkouterstraat.

The 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion was ordered to occupy Vanity Cottage and the surrounding area with six companies, holding one company in support at Yetta Cottages. The two remaining two companies of the 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion and an additional two companies from the 4th Canadian Infantry Battalion were ordered to hold the Bellevue area. At 6 a.m. on the 6th of November 1917 the 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade attacked. The 1st and 2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion was able to take the objectives with little opposition. The 3rd Canadian Infantry Battalion was held up at Vine Cottage but were able to defeat the resistance and capture the objective. They consolidated the line and were relieved on the night between November 7th and 8th.

Edward, aged 35, died of wounds on November 6th, 1917. The day before he was admitted to 1st Canadian Field Ambulance with a chest wound and was transferred the next day to the 2nd Canadian Casualty Clearing Station at Remy Siding. He was likely wounded during the relief of the 3rd Canadian Infantry Brigade or while holding the jump-off line near Goudberg, west of Passchendaele. Private Bennett is buried at Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery, plot XXI, row GG, grave 12.

Sources 5

“The Canadian Virtual War Memorial,” Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC).
https://www.veterans.gc.ca
Sources used
Chris McCarthy, Passchendaele: The Day-By-Day Account (Londen: Arms & Armour, 2018), 160-161.
Sources used
Circumstances of Deaths Registers (Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa (LAC), RG150, 1992-93/314).
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca
Sources used
Personnel Records of the First World War (Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa (LAC), RG 150).
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca
Sources used
War diaries - 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade (Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa (LAC), RG9-III-D-3, 4868, T-10667, 195).
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca
Sources used

Pte
Edward Henry Bennett

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
12/11/1882
Lieu de naissance:
Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Informations générales

Profession:
Tile Layer
Religion:
Church of England

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Canada
Force armée:
Canadian Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Private
Numéro de service:
669668
Incorporation date:
06/02/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Unités:
 —  Canadian Infantry, 3rd Bn. (Toronto Regiment)  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
06/11/1917
Lieu de décès:
Lijssenthoek, Remy Siding, No. 2 Canadian Casualty Clearing Station, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Died of wounds (D.O.W.)
Âge:
34

Cimetière

Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery
Parcelle: XXI
Rangée: GG
Tombe: 12

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 4

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Lieu d'enrôlement
#3 Lieu de blessure
#4 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

Edward Henry Bennett, ancien carreleur, est né le 12 novembre 1882, à Toronto, en Ontario, au Canada. Le 6 février 1916, il s'est enrôlé à Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Edward a servi en tant que soldat dans le 3e bataillon d'infanterie canadienne, faisant partie de la 1re brigade d'infanterie canadienne, de la 1re division d'infanterie canadienne.

Dans les nuits du 4/5 et du 5/6 novembre, la 1ère brigade d'infanterie canadienne a relevé la 3ème brigade d'infanterie canadienne dans le champ à l'ouest de Passchendaele. Le 2e Bataillon d'infanterie canadienne tient le flanc gauche entre le Paddebeek et la s' Graventafelstraat. Le 1er Bataillon d'infanterie canadienne occupait le côté droit, entre la s' Graventafelstraat et le Stroombeek. Le 3e bataillon d'infanterie canadienne était en soutien et le 4e bataillon d'infanterie canadienne était en réserve près de s' Graventafel.

Le 4 novembre 1917, la 1ère brigade d'infanterie canadienne a reçu l'ordre d'attaquer le 6. L'attaque avait trois objectifs. Le premier objectif était une ligne allant de la zone de Mosselmarkt, le long de la Karabiniersstraat du 4e Régiment jusqu'à Stroombeek. Le deuxième objectif allait de Goudberg (près de la Ferme de la Vaillance et des Légumes) au carrefour s' Graventafelstraat-Osselstraat jusqu'au Stroombeek. Le dernier objectif se situait à environ 150 à 200 mètres devant le deuxième objectif et allait de la Paardebosstraat devant la ferme Valour jusqu'au carrefour au sud de la ferme Venture, en passant par un point situé entre la Westrozebekestraat et la Doornkouterstraat.

Le 3e bataillon d'infanterie canadien a reçu l'ordre d'occuper Vanity Cottage et ses environs avec six compagnies, en gardant une compagnie en soutien à Yetta Cottages. Les deux autres compagnies du 3e Bataillon d'infanterie canadien et deux autres compagnies du 4e Bataillon d'infanterie canadien ont reçu l'ordre de tenir le secteur de Bellevue. À 6 heures du matin, le 6 novembre 1917, la 1re brigade d'infanterie canadienne attaqua. Les 1er et 2e bataillons d'infanterie canadienne ont pu prendre les objectifs avec peu d'opposition. Le 3e bataillon d'infanterie canadienne a été retenu à Vine Cottage mais a pu vaincre la résistance et capturer l'objectif. Ils ont consolidé la ligne et ont été relevés dans la nuit du 7 au 8 novembre.

Edward, âgé de 35 ans, mourut de ses blessures le 6 novembre 1917. La veille, il avait été admis à la 1ère Ambulance de campagne canadienne pour une blessure à la poitrine et avait été transféré le lendemain au 2ème Poste d'évacuation sanitaire canadien à Remy Siding. Il a probablement été blessé lors de la relève de la 3e brigade d'infanterie canadienne ou alors qu'il tenait la ligne de saut près de Goudberg, à l'ouest de Passchendaele. Le soldat Bennett est enterré au cimetière militaire de Lijssenthoek, parcelle XXI, rangée GG, tombe 12.

Sources 5

“The Canadian Virtual War Memorial,” Veterans Affairs Canada (VAC).
https://www.veterans.gc.ca
Sources utilisées
Chris McCarthy, Passchendaele: The Day-By-Day Account (Londen: Arms & Armour, 2018), 160-161.
Sources utilisées
Circumstances of Deaths Registers (Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa (LAC), RG150, 1992-93/314).
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca
Sources utilisées
Personnel Records of the First World War (Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa (LAC), RG 150).
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca
Sources utilisées
War diaries - 1st Canadian Infantry Brigade (Library and Archives Canada, Ottawa (LAC), RG9-III-D-3, 4868, T-10667, 195).
https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca
Sources utilisées