Rfn
Frank Edward Jarvey

Information about birth

Year of birth:
1881
Place of birth:
Greenock, Renfrewshire, Scotland, United Kingdom

General information

Profession:
Carman

Army information

Country:
England, United Kingdom
Force:
British Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Rifleman
Service number:
S/18392
Enlistment date:
01/05/1916
Enlistment place:
Stratford, Essex, England, United Kingdom
Units:
 —  The Rifle Brigade, 16th Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
01/08/1917
Place of death:
Kitchener's Wood, Langemark, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
36

Memorial

Distinctions and medals 2

Additional information

Frank Edward Jarvey was a 35-year old town carman when he was conscripted and enlised at 1 May 1916 at Stratford. The father of four born in Greenock and living in Plaistow, Essex served as a rifleman with the 16th Bn. The Rifle Brigade (117th Brigade, 39th Division).and took part in the opening battle of the Battle of Passchendaele on 31 July 1917.

In February 1917 he was wounded in action in the same area. On 14 February he was part of a raiding party. While his battalion manned the frontline in the Railway Wood Sector a raid took place (I.5.b.5.4.) with 4 officers, 159 other ranks and 7 royal engineers for demolition work. One officer and 8 other ranks got killed, 3 officers and 42 other ranks wounded and 7 missing. Rifleman Jarvey suffered from a gunshot wound to his right leg. He rejoined his battalion by the end of March.

On 30 July 1917 the 16th Bn. Rifle Brigade moved from Canal Bank to take up their assembly positions, between Gilson Street and Diggles Street, in and about Bilge Trench (Wieltje). The next morning at 3.50 a.m. zero hour they attacked, the 17th Bn. King’s Royal Rifle Corps leading the attack, with the 117th Bn. Sherwood Foresters on the right and 1/6th Gordon Highlanders on the left.

The 16th Bn. Rifle Brigade could take and consolidate their assigned positions. While taking the Dotted Blue Line and Black Line (Cannon and Canoe Trench) they suffered resistance from several machine gun positions; at Racecourse Farm, Bochcastel Estaminet and Kitchener’s Wood. One concrete strong point at C.10.d.4.4. was so well camouflaged and not shown on any map, but was eventually dealt with. Kitchener’s Wood was cleared and the leading companies advanced to and dug in the Black Dotted Line. The rear waves passed through and attacked the Steenbeek. 3 German strongpoints at Regina Cross offered serious resistance. The objective was eventually reached and a line was consolidated about 30 yards beyond the Steenbeek. The 4/5th Black Watch passed trough for the attack on the Green Line but had to withdrawal to the consolidated line of the 16th Rifle Brigade. The battalions prepared for a German counter attack but artillery barrages could prevent it from happening.

Rifleman Frank Edward Jarvey was one of the casualties during this attack. Missing in action on 31 July and ‘killed in action’ on 1 August 1917. His body was never recovered after the war and to this day he is remembered on the Menin Gate in Ypres.

Files 1

Sources 5

"Passchendaele, The Day-by-Day Account",McCarthy C., 2018, Unicorn Publishing Press, London, pp. 28-29
Sources used
Ancestry
https://www.ancestry.com/
Sources used
CWGC
https://www.cwgc.org/find-records/find-war-dead/casualty-details/1616125/frank-edward-jarvey/
Sources used
The Long Long Trail
https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/
Sources used
War Diary 16th Bn. The Rifle Brigade, WO-95-2586
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used

Rfn
Frank Edward Jarvey

Informations sur naissance

Année de naissance:
1881
Lieu de naissance:
Greenock, Renfrewshire, Royaume-Uni, Écosse

Informations générales

Profession:
Carman

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Royaume-Uni, Angleterre
Force armée:
British Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Rifleman
Numéro de service:
S/18392
Incorporation date:
01/05/1916
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Stratford, Essex, Royaume-Uni, Angleterre
Unités:
 —  The Rifle Brigade, 16th Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
01/08/1917
Lieu de décès:
Kitchener's Wood, Langemark, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
36

Mémorial

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Complément d'informations

Frank Edward Jarvey était un vendeur de voitures de ville âgé de 35 ans lorsqu'il a été conscrit et s'est engagé le 1er mai 1916 à Stratford. Ce père de quatre enfants, né à Greenock et vivant à Plaistow, dans l'Essex, servit comme fusilier dans le 16e Bn. The Rifle Brigade (117e Brigade, 39e Division) et a pris part à la première bataille de la bataille de Passchendaele le 31 juillet 1917.

En février 1917, il est blessé au combat dans la même région. Le 14 février, il faisait partie d'un groupe d'attaque. Alors que son bataillon se trouvait sur la ligne de front dans le secteur Railway Wood, un raid eut lieu (I.5.b.5.4.) avec 4 officiers, 159 autres soldats et 7 ingénieurs royaux pour des travaux de démolition. Un officier et 8 soldats ont été tués, 3 officiers et 42 soldats blessés et 7 disparus. Le fusilier Jarvey souffrait d'une blessure par balle à la jambe droite. Il rejoignit son bataillon à la fin du mois de mars.

Le 30 juillet 1917, le 16e Bn. Rifle Brigade se déplaça de Canal Bank pour prendre ses positions de rassemblement, entre Gilson Street et Diggles Street, dans et autour de la tranchée Bilge (Wieltje). Le lendemain matin à 3 h 50, heure zéro, ils attaquent, le 17th Bn. King's Royal Rifle Corps menant l'attaque, avec le 117e Bn. Sherwood Foresters sur la droite et le 1/6th Gordon Highlanders sur la gauche.

Le 16e Bn. Rifle Brigade pouvait prendre et consolider les positions qui lui étaient assignées. En prenant la ligne bleue pointillée et la ligne noire (tranchée du canon et du canoë), elle subit la résistance de plusieurs positions de mitrailleuses, à Racecourse Farm, Bochcastel Estaminet et Kitchener's Wood. Un point fort en béton à C.10.d.4.4. était si bien camouflé et n'apparaissait sur aucune carte, mais il a finalement été maîtrisé. Le bois de Kitchener fut dégagé et les compagnies de tête avancèrent jusqu'à la ligne des points noirs et s'y retranchèrent. Les vagues arrière ont traversé et attaqué le Steenbeek. Trois points d'appui allemands à Regina Cross ont offert une résistance sérieuse. L'objectif fut finalement atteint et une ligne fut consolidée à environ 30 yards au-delà du Steenbeek. Le 4/5th Black Watch passa au travers pour l'attaque de la Ligne Verte mais dut se replier sur la ligne consolidée de la 16th Rifle Brigade. Les bataillons se préparent à une contre-attaque allemande mais les barrages d'artillerie l'empêchent.

Le fusilier Frank Edward Jarvey fut l'une des victimes de cette attaque. Disparu au combat le 31 juillet et " tué au combat " le 1er août 1917. Son corps n'a jamais été retrouvé après la guerre et, à ce jour, il est commémoré sur la Porte de Menin à Ypres.

Fichiers 1

Sources 5

"Passchendaele, The Day-by-Day Account",McCarthy C., 2018, Unicorn Publishing Press, London, pp. 28-29
Sources utilisées
Ancestry
https://www.ancestry.com/
Sources utilisées
CWGC
https://www.cwgc.org/find-records/find-war-dead/casualty-details/1616125/frank-edward-jarvey/
Sources utilisées
The Long Long Trail
https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/
Sources utilisées
War Diary 16th Bn. The Rifle Brigade, WO-95-2586
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées