Sjt
William Raby Walker

Information about birth

Date of birth:
10/10/1886
Place of birth:
Collingwood, Tasman, New Zealand

General information

last known residence:
Triangle Valley, Pūponga, Tasman, New Zealand
Profession:
Farmer
Religion:
Presbyterian

Army information

Country:
New Zealand
Force:
New Zealand Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Serjeant
Service number:
23/1861
Enlistment date:
16/10/1915
Enlistment place:
Trentham, Wellington, New Zealand
Units:
 —  Canterbury Regiment, 2nd Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
20/12/1917
Place of death:
Cameron Covert, Zonnebeke, Belgium
Cause of death:
Died of wounds (D.O.W.)
Age:
31

Distinctions and medals 3

Points of interest 4

#1 Place of birth
#2 Last known residence
#3 Enlistment place
#4 ‘Place of death’

My story

William Raby Walker, a former famer, was born on 10 October 1917 in Collingwood, Tasman, New Zealand. He was the son of James and Helen Walker. William enlisted on 16 October 1915 in Trentham, Wellington, New Zealand. He served as a Serjeant in the 12th (Nelson) Company, 2nd Battalion Canterbury Regiment, part of 2nd New Zealand Brigade, of the New Zealand Division.

In December 1917, the Battle of Passchendaele had ended but the line was still occupied. On the night of December 15/16th, the 2nd Canterbury Battalion moved two companies out of support at Polygonveld to Cameron Covert where they relieved the front-line troops. Two other companies stayed in support near Polygonveld. On the night of December 18/19th, the companies switched their positions. Now the 12th (Nelson) Company held the front line until the night of 22/23 December 1917.

William Raby Walker, aged 31, died of wounds on December 20, 1917. Serjeant Walker has no known grave and is remembered on panel 3A of the Buttes New British Cemetery (N.Z.) Memorial, Polygon Wood. The posthumously received a Distinguished Conduct Medal on 26 March 1918. The statement reads the following: “For conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty when in command of a platoon in an isolated trench when a party of the enemy about 50 strong attempted a raid. He showed great tactical ability in bringing a Lewis gun to bear on the threatened flank, covering it with a section of bombers, and caught the raiders with enfilade fire and decimated them. He had previously shown marked courage and devotion to duty.”

Sources 1

David Ferguson, The history of the Canterbury Regiment N.Z.E.F. : 1914-1919 (Auckland: Whitcombe and Tombs, 1921).
Sources used

More information 5

Sjt
William Raby Walker

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
10/10/1886
Lieu de naissance:
Collingwood, Tasman, New Zealand

Informations générales

Dernière résidence connue:
Triangle Valley, Pūponga, Tasman, New Zealand
Profession:
Agriculteur
Religion:
Presbyterian

Informations service militaire

Pays:
New Zealand
Force armée:
New Zealand Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Serjeant
Numéro de service:
23/1861
Incorporation date:
16/10/1915
Incorporation nom de lieu:
Trentham, Wellington, New Zealand
Unités:
 —  Canterbury Regiment, 2nd Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
20/12/1917
Lieu de décès:
Cameron Covert, Zonnebeke, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Died of wounds (D.O.W.)
Âge:
31

Distinctions et médailles 3

Points d'intérêt 4

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Dernière résidence connue
#3 Lieu d'enrôlement
#4 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

William Raby Walker, ancien chef de famille, est né le 10 octobre 1917 à Collingwood, Tasman, Nouvelle-Zélande. Il était le fils de James et Helen Walker. William s'est engagé le 16 octobre 1915 à Trentham, Wellington, Nouvelle-Zélande. Il a servi comme sergent dans la 12e compagnie (Nelson), 2e Bataillon du Canterbury Regiment, faisant partie de la 2e Brigade néo-zélandaise, de la Division néo-zélandaise.

En décembre 1917, la bataille de Passchendaele était terminée mais la ligne était toujours occupée. Dans la nuit du 15 au 16 décembre, le 2e Bataillon de Canterbury déplaça deux compagnies du soutien du Polygonveld à Cameron Covert où elles relevèrent les troupes de première ligne. Deux autres compagnies restent en soutien près de Polygonveld. Dans la nuit du 18 au 19 décembre, les compagnies changent de position. La 12e compagnie (Nelson) tenait désormais la ligne de front jusqu'à la nuit du 22 au 23 décembre 1917.

William Raby Walker, âgé de 31 ans, mourut de ses blessures le 20 décembre 1917. Le sergent Walker n'a pas de sépulture connue et est commémoré sur le panneau 3A du mémorial du cimetière de Buttes New British Cemetery (N.Z.), bois du Polygone. Il a reçu à titre posthume la Distinguished Conduct Medal le 26 mars 1918. La déclaration se lit comme suit : " Pour sa bravoure remarquable et son dévouement au devoir alors qu'il commandait une section dans une tranchée isolée lorsqu'un groupe d'ennemis d'environ 50 personnes tenta un raid. Il a fait preuve d'une grande habileté tactique en amenant une mitrailleuse Lewis sur le flanc menacé, en la couvrant avec une section de bombardiers, et en prenant les raiders sous un feu d'enfilade et en les décimant. Il avait auparavant fait preuve d'un courage et d'un dévouement remarquables".

Sources 1

David Ferguson, The history of the Canterbury Regiment N.Z.E.F. : 1914-1919 (Auckland: Whitcombe and Tombs, 1921).
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 5