2nd Lt
Randal Alexander Casson

Information about birth

Date of birth:
11/10/1893
Place of birth:
Chelsea, Surrey, England, United Kingdom

General information

last known residence:
Bron-y-garth, Porthmadog, Caernarfonshire, Wales, United Kingdom

Army information

Country:
England, United Kingdom
Force:
British Expeditionary Force
Rank:
Second Lieutenant
Enlistment date:
01/02/1917
Units:
 —  Royal Welsh Fusiliers, 2nd Bn.  (Last known unit)

Information about death

Date of death:
26/09/1917
Place of death:
Black Watch Corner, Zonnebeke, Belgium
Cause of death:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Age:
23

Cemetery

Poelcapelle British Cemetery
Plot: LV
Row: F
Grave: 12

Distinctions and medals 2

Points of interest 3

#1 Place of birth
#2 Last known residence
#3 ‘Place of death’

My story

Randal Alexander Casson, a former student, was born on 11 October 1893 in Chelsea, Middlesex, England. He was the only son of Randal and Lucy Jane Casson. Randal was educated at Winchester and Christ Church College. He was part of the University Contingent of the Officers’ Training Corps and commenced service in September 1915. Randal served as a Second Lieutenant in the 2nd Battalion Royal Welsh Fusiliers, part of the 19th Brigade, of the 33rd Division.

The 33rd Division took part in the Battle of Polygon Wood. On the 26th of September 1917 it attacked with the 5th Australian Division on their left and the 39th Division on their right. The objective of the division was a line running south form Joist Farm to Polderhoek Chateau, then turning southwest to the Menin Road-Polygonestraat crossroad. The 33rd Division advanced with the 98th Brigade on the left and the 100th Brigade on the right. The 19th Brigade was placed in divisional reserve near Bedford House.

The 98th Brigade attacked at 5:30 a.m. but a German artillery barrage was able to break up this attack. Eventually they were only able to join the troops holding the line near Black Watch Corner, well short of their objective. Since the attack failed troops from the brigade in reserve were called to the front.

At 8:15 a.m. on the morning of the 26th of September 1917 the 2nd Battalion Royal Welsh Fusiliers received orders at 8:15 to attack and consolidate the line running from Cameron House to Reutelbeek. Around 10 a.m. they moved from Sterling Castle to Black Watch Corner. They reached this position at 11:45 a.m., having suffered about 15 casualties form shellfire. They formed up along the Oude Kortrijkstraat, running along the southern side of Polygon Wood. At noon the battalion attacked in a southerly direction, capturing a line running diagonally from Carlisle Farm to a point between Jerk House and Cameron House. About 120 men became casualties during the attack. At dusk the battalion fell back to connect with the Australians on the left. This line ran about 200 metres south from and parallel to the Oude Kortrijkstraat, running across Jerk House.

On 27 September 1917 the battalion received orders to mop up resistance at Cameron House and Jut Farm with the Australians and a company of the 5th Battalion Scottish Rifles. The attack was successful, suffering only slight casualties and taking 14 prisoners at Jut Farm. That evening the battalion was relieved by the 8th Battalion Yorkshire Regiment. This relief was completed by 10:15 p.m.

Randal Alexander Casson, aged 23, was killed in action on September 26th, 1917. He was killed when a shell struck the shell hole where he, Major Poore and Second Lieutenant Campbell-Colquhoun were sheltering. All three were killed. Frank Richards, the author of ‘Old Soldiers Never Die’ gives more details about the death of Second Lieutenant Casson: “There was a strong-point called Black Watch Corner, which was a trench facing north, south, east and west. A few yards outside the trench was a pill-box which was Battalion HQ... The enemy now began to heavily bombard our position, and Major Poore and Mr. Casson left the pill-box and got in a large shell-hole which had a deep, narrow trench dug in the bottom of it. They were safer there than in the pill-box, yet in less than fifteen minutes a howitzer shell had pitched clean into it, killing both of them. During the day shells fell all around the pill-box, but not one made a direct hit on it.” Second Lieutenant Casson was initially buried near Black Watch Corner at 28.J.9.d.00.10. His remains were recovered and identified on 14 June 1923. His remains were exhumed and interred at Poelcapelle British Cemetery, Plot LV, Row F, Grave 12.

Sources 7

"2nd Lieutenant Randal Alexander Casson RA," Christ Church Fallen Alumni
https://www.chch.ox.ac.uk/fallen-alumni/2nd-lieutenant-randal-alexander-casson-ra
Sources used
19 Brigade: Headquarters (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), British Army war diaries 1914-1922, WO 95/2421/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
2 Battalion Royal Welsh Fusiliers (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), British Army war diaries 1914-1922, WO95/2423/1).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources used
Frank Richards, Old Soldiers Never Die (London: Faber & Faber, 1933).
Sources used
Gerald Festus Kelly, Second Lieutenant Randal Alexander Casson, 2nd Battalion Royal Welch Fusiliers (Royal Welch Fusiliers Regimental Museum, Caernarfon, 3933).
https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/second-lieutenant-randal-alexander-casson-2nd-battalion-royal-welch-fusiliers-18931917-181513
Sources used
McCarthy Chris, Passchendaele: The Day-by-Day Account (Londen, Unicorn Publishing Group, 2018), 93.
Sources used
Siegfried Sassoon, Memoirs of an Infantry Officer (London: Faber & Faber, 1930).
Sources used

More information 3

2nd Lt
Randal Alexander Casson

Informations sur naissance

Date de naissance:
11/10/1893
Lieu de naissance:
Chelsea, Surrey, Angleterre, Royaume-Uni

Informations générales

Dernière résidence connue:
Bron-y-garth, Porthmadog, Caernarfonshire, Pays de Galles, Royaume-Uni

Informations service militaire

Pays:
Angleterre, Royaume-Uni
Force armée:
British Expeditionary Force
Rang:
Second Lieutenant
Incorporation date:
01/02/1917
Unités:
 —  Royal Welsh Fusiliers, 2nd Bn.  (Dernière unité connue)

Informations sur décès

Date de décès:
26/09/1917
Lieu de décès:
Black Watch Corner, Zonnebeke, Belgique
Cause du décès:
Killed in action (K.I.A.)
Âge:
23

Cimetière

Poelcapelle British Cemetery
Parcelle: LV
Rangée: F
Tombe: 12

Distinctions et médailles 2

British War Medal
Médaille
Victory Medal
Médaille

Points d'intérêt 3

#1 Lieu de naissance
#2 Dernière résidence connue
#3 "Lieu de décès"

Mon histoire

Randal Alexander Casson, ancien élève, est né le 11 octobre 1893 à Chelsea, Middlesex, Angleterre. Il était le fils unique de Randal et Lucy Jane Casson. Randal a fait ses études à Winchester et au Christ Church College. Il faisait partie du contingent universitaire du Corps de formation des officiers et commença son service en septembre 1915. Randal servait comme sous-lieutenant dans le 2e Bataillon des Royal Welsh Fusiliers, faisant partie de la 19e Brigade de la 33e Division.

La 33e Division prit part à la bataille du bois du Polygone. Le 26 septembre 1917, elle attaqua avec la 5e division australienne sur sa gauche et la 39e division sur sa droite. L'objectif de la division était une ligne allant du sud de Joist Farm au château de Polderhoek, puis tournant au sud-ouest jusqu'au carrefour de la route de Menin et de Polygonestraat. La 33e Division avançait avec la 98e Brigade sur la gauche et la 100e Brigade sur la droite. La 19e Brigade est placée en réserve divisionnaire près de Bedford House.

La 98e Brigade a attaqué à 5h30 mais un barrage d'artillerie allemand a pu briser cette attaque. Finalement, elle ne put que rejoindre les troupes qui tenaient la ligne près de Black Watch Corner, bien loin de leur objectif. L'attaque ayant échoué, les troupes de la brigade en réserve ont été appelées au front.

À 8 h 15, le matin du 26 septembre 1917, le 2e Bataillon des Royal Welsh Fusiliers reçut l'ordre d'attaquer et de consolider la ligne allant de Cameron House à Reutelbeek. Vers 10 h, ils se déplacèrent de Sterling Castle à Black Watch Corner. Ils ont atteint cette position à 11 h 45, après avoir subi une quinzaine de pertes sous les tirs d'obus. Ils se sont regroupés le long de la Oude Kortrijkstraat, qui longe le côté sud du bois du Polygone. À midi, le bataillon attaqua en direction du sud, capturant une ligne allant en diagonale de la ferme Carlisle à un point situé entre Jerk House et Cameron House. Environ 120 hommes ont été blessés pendant l'attaque. Au crépuscule, le bataillon se replia pour rejoindre les Australiens sur la gauche. Cette ligne s'étendait sur environ 200 mètres au sud de la Oude Kortrijkstraat et parallèlement à celle-ci, traversant Jerk House.

Le 27 septembre 1917, le bataillon reçut l'ordre d'écraser la résistance à Cameron House et Jut Farm avec les Australiens et une compagnie du 5e Bataillon de fusiliers écossais. L'attaque fut un succès, ne subissant que de légères pertes et faisant 14 prisonniers à Jut Farm. Ce soir-là, le bataillon fut relevé par le 8e bataillon du Yorkshire Regiment. Cette relève s'est achevée à 22 h 15.

Randal Alexander Casson, âgé de 23 ans, fut tué au combat le 26 septembre 1917. Il fut tué lorsqu'un obus frappa le trou d'obus où lui, le major Poore et le sous-lieutenant Campbell-Colquhoun s'abritaient. Tous trois furent tués. Frank Richards, l'auteur de " Old Soldiers Never Die " (Les vieux soldats ne meurent jamais) donne plus de détails sur la mort du sous-lieutenant Casson : " Il y avait un point fort appelé Black Watch Corner, qui était une tranchée orientée vers le nord, le sud, l'est et l'ouest. À quelques mètres de la tranchée se trouvait une casemate qui était le QG du bataillon... L'ennemi a alors commencé à bombarder lourdement notre position, et le major Poore et M. Casson ont quitté la casemate pour se réfugier dans un grand trou d'obus au fond duquel était creusée une tranchée étroite et profonde. Ils étaient plus en sécurité là que dans la casemate, mais en moins de quinze minutes, un obus d'obusier s'y est logé, les tuant tous les deux. Pendant la journée, des obus tombèrent tout autour de la casemate, mais aucun ne l'atteignit directement". Le sous-lieutenant Casson a été initialement enterré près de Black Watch Corner au 28.J.9.d.00.10. Ses restes ont été retrouvés et identifiés en juin 1923. Ses restes ont été exhumés et enterrés au cimetière britannique de Poelcapelle, au carré LV, rangée F, tombe 12.

Sources 7

"2nd Lieutenant Randal Alexander Casson RA," Christ Church Fallen Alumni
https://www.chch.ox.ac.uk/fallen-alumni/2nd-lieutenant-randal-alexander-casson-ra
Sources utilisées
19 Brigade: Headquarters (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), British Army war diaries 1914-1922, WO 95/2421/2).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
2 Battalion Royal Welsh Fusiliers (The National Archives, Kew (TNA), British Army war diaries 1914-1922, WO95/2423/1).
https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Sources utilisées
Frank Richards, Old Soldiers Never Die (Londen: Faber & Faber, 1933).
Sources utilisées
Gerald Festus Kelly, Second Lieutenant Randal Alexander Casson, 2nd Battalion Royal Welch Fusiliers (Royal Welch Fusiliers Regimental Museum, Caernarfon, 3933).
https://artuk.org/discover/artworks/second-lieutenant-randal-alexander-casson-2nd-battalion-royal-welch-fusiliers-18931917-181513
Sources utilisées
McCarthy Chris, Passchendaele: The Day-by-Day Account (Londen, Unicorn Publishing Group, 2018), 93.
Sources utilisées
Siegfried Sassoon, Memoirs of an Infantry Officer (Londen: Faber & Faber, 1930).
Sources utilisées

Complément d’informations 3